Coding Dreams

It’s a real thing, and I’ve had a couple this weekend. I’m surprised it’s taken so long, given the intense coding we’ve been doing on my Codeclan course.

On Friday night I decided to re-read The Hobbit after many years. In my previous post I mentioned that I had been caught out in an incorrect Lord of the Rings reference, and that put it in my mind to revisit that world.

In The Hobbit, the intrepid clan of Dwarves can only enter the secret door on the Lonely Mountain on “Durin’s Day”, which is described as the first day of the last moon of Autumn. (I’m sure I’ll be corrected if I’m wrong there.)

pp-hobmap-anim

Feel free to read the description of Durin’s day here if you want to check my accuracy.

So after starting the book that evening before bed, I had a dream about using a Ruby program to calculate when Durin’s Day would fall every year and to send out a notification. I can’t remember any of what I thought would be in the program, only that I would need an API of moon phases, or something like that. But looked at logically, if you have a table of moon phases you wouldn’t need a program. But that didn’t enter my nocturnal calculations.

I had another one this morning, not really connected to anything, just a (probably imaginary) method running around in my head about how to use an .each method to iterate around something and do something terribly important. Pity I can’t remember more, it might come in handy when next I write something in Ruby!

Leave a Reply

